Bialystoker Synagogue was organized in 1865 on the Lower East Side of
New York City. The Synagogue began on
congregation is housed in a fieldstone building built in
In the corner of the women’s gallery there is a small break in the wall that leads to a ladder going up to an attic, lit by two windows. Legend has it that the synagogue was a stop on the Underground Railroad and that runaway slaves found sanctuary in this attic.
1905, our congregation, at that time composed
chiefly of Polish immigrants from the
In 1988 the Synagogue restored the interior to its original facade, and the former Hebrew school building was renovated and reopened as The Daniel Potkorony Building. It is currently used for many educational activities. Our most recent project was the refurbishing of our windows.
The Synagogue has continued to be a vibrant and reputable force in the religious world. In recent years a substantial number of new families have chosen to make it their place for prayer and study.
© Copyright 2001-2005. All rights reserved, no part may be copied or used without express written permission.